Hold the phone.

22 Apr

This week has been a mix of random outings and dates.  I could write a blog post about each separate night, but I really only want to talk about one thing:  Charlie.  Whose name is really Mark, but has now been transformed to Marlie.   Marlie & Me.

I’m a real stickler for text messaging.  I can’t stand a bad text messager.   Smileys, LOLs and over punctuation are three big NOs in my online life.  I also live with my phone glued to my hand so I can never tell the appropriate time to reply because I read almost every text or email immediately.   Do I respond right away?  Do I wait the same exact amount of time between his last text and mine to get back to him?  Should I keep it to one text in a row or can I send two to three?  Is it appropriate to text at 5 a.m. when I wake up (like I do to all my ungrateful friends)? Should I add them on Blackberry Messenger so they can see when I have read the message? 

Sometimes being single IS a grind. 

On Sunday & Monday, I spent a good portion of my time text messaging with Marlie.   He kept coming back with all of these jokes and I was amused.  He even tried to convince me that he gave me his friends name at the bar, and the name I had been googling for the past two days wasn’t actually him.  And for a good ten minutes I believed it.  Then he asked if he could give my number to his friend because he thought we would be the perfect match.    I love when guys throw me through the ringer. 

On Tuesday, I went to a concert with a buddy.  Brice and my college boyfriend were there too, which made it a whole lot of awkwardness.  But I promised myself I would never blog about Peter, because A. he’s probably reading this right now and B. he doesn’t deserve it.   After a few drinks and a good show, I got home around midnight and sent Marlie a text.  It led to a few more, which then led to him calling me to talk.  We spent around two hours talking on the phone.

I don’t even know how to comment on it, because it shocks even me.     

Wednesday, I went to sleep no later than 9 p.m. because I was so tired from staying up all of the night before on the phone.  I woke up at 2 a.m., in a cold sweat, thinking it was 2012.  Love that feeling.  I texted Marlie, again he called, and we spent another two hours on the phone.  

And last night, I went out with Chosh (this is officially the last time you’ll be hearing about them), but then found myself at home at 3 a.m. talking to Marlie on the phone again. 

This isn’t my actual life, is it?  Sleep deprivation for the sake of giving good phone.  The new form of dating in 2011.  No, I can’t hang out tonight, but I can talk on the phone after midnight.  Call me.

Finally, circa 6 a.m. this morning, I put my foot down.  I told him I couldn’t talk to him on the phone anymore unless we made plans to hang out.  He said he hopes he never sees me again, but talks to me often.  Classic response.

Anyway, he’s moving next week so he’s packing AND he thinks he has pneumonia (how could he not – I am pretty sure he doesn’t sleep?), so we agreed on take out and a movie tonight.  Is this a good “first date” idea?  No.  But I am pretty sure it couldn’t get any weirder than it already is and if it does, I’ll just go home and call him.

Leave a Reply

